First Build, Single Vero29/upgradeability. Help appreciated :)

Discuss COBs or any other types of LEDs that don’t fit the other categories (Cree, Citizen, Migro, etc.).
Capt. Saicin
LED Enthusiast
LED Enthusiast
Reactions:

Hello!

I decided to build my first light since all white growlinghts are either too expensive, too big, not available or all of it and the parts are pretty cheap and as it seems easily upgradeable. Total Noobie building lights and Electronics besides some fiddling and repairing wires and stuff.

Growing area is a small (70cmX50cm (roughly 2,3x1,6 feet)) open space on a sideboard for six litte hydro Chili.
For now i want to use:
1x BXRC-30E10K0-D-73 (3000K Vero 29 Cri 80) @ 37,7V @ 2,6A (about 100W or possibly lower Amps/Watts)
but i might add another one later on. Running a tight budget.

I want to use a Mean Well HLG-185H-48A (187W, 3,9A, 24-48V/DC)
If i were to add the other COB i would need 37,7Vx2=75V if i were to put them in series, right? Does this work well/at all if i undervolt and pull up the AMP? Or would i need another driver with 80+V?

So does this sound like it would work? Back to the drawingboard? Anything i missed or got wrong? Especially with the Mean Well Driver. As i understand it i can reguale Volt/AMP on the A-Device itself? I dont need a poti since i can rech the driver easily.
Shimbob
LED Wizard
LED Wizard
Reactions:

You would add another cob in parallel, not series. Voltage will stay the same, current to each cob will be half.

You would be better off with the hlg-185h-42a, no reason to get the -48. You'll lose efficiency with the -48.
kmb
LED Enthusiast
LED Enthusiast
Reactions:

I did a Vero 29 cob build, and I’d go with a strip build if I were to do it again.