Absolute newbie builder needs some buying advice

Discuss COBs or any other types of LEDs that don’t fit the other categories (Cree, Citizen, Migro, etc.).
hogemeister
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:

Hello everyone!

Just recently built an area for flowering and it's kinda triangle shaped with a corner cut off - so 4 x 5 x 3 kinda.

So I've recently switched to LED's and I would like to build my own light system for my new flowering space.

Cost wise I've decided to go with bridgelux vero 29.

And I plan to purchase my equipment from https://www.digikey.co.uk who seem to stock plenty of stuff.

How many cobs do you think I'll need? 5 perhaps?
I'm gonna try and make the unit kind of "T" shaped to cover my nearly triangle shape space.

There are so many to choose from on digikey that it's confusing me slightly, also I've no idea what driver I should need as well.

Looks like I'll also need individual heat sinks which I'll also purchase from digikey.

As I'll be using my new leds for flowering only, I've no idea which bridgelux vero 29's I should buy.

Can someone point me in a direction of which bridgelux vero 29's I should buy, and also which driver I will need as well.

Thanks in Advance!
majorana
LED Maniac
LED Maniac
Reactions:

Very generally speaking, with LEDs you'd like to be aiming at 35W/square foot, so for the space that would be roughly 600W. How many LEDS does that translate too would be your call. With Vero 29 (please note there are 3 types, B/C/D if I'm not mistaken) on average you'd be looking at 50W/COB with those, so you'd probably come up with 12 COBs. This would depend on how hard (i.e., at what amperage) you drive the COBs. With the same 12 COBs you can end up using 400 and 800W depending on the amperage, which will influence their efficiency (how much light they produce per energy unit.) You'll find a better explanation, and a whole lot more, reading up in the site. If you're going the DIY-route you better know what you're getting into :)