Leaf temp, ambient temp and VPD

The fruits of our labor. We welcome all types of plants, but grows posted here must be legal.
ATPinMotion
LED Lover
LED Lover
Reactions:

High all,

I am new to growing in a tent, and like many, I'm trying to optimize my environmentals.

There is a lot of conflicting information out there about VPD and the Boogeyman (powdery mildew, or PM) and I'm looking for some help to make sense of it all.

Here the chart I started working from, published by Fluence;

https://www.kisorganics.com/pages/canna ... episode-10

The values are very percise, but I found it cumbersome to work with.

Here is my interpretation,
19_01-VPD.jpg
I've been trying to maintain a 1.5kPa deficit, and have noticed seedlings at 28°C / 65%RH are growing much more vigorously than those at 25°C / 55%RH.

Those are atmospheric temps. Leaf temps are ~27°C and ~23°C respectively.

Looking forward, I plan to push humidity and temperature in veg. Aim for 28°C on the leaf, and then add humidity until I get a 1.0kPa deficit. Is this relative to ambient air temp? Or leaf temp? Any wisdom in splitting the difference, or 'averaging' as a scientist would say?

I've had a couple of times where the tent hit the dew point at lights out. WOW, there's a lot of water in that hot humid air. Getting a few good airchanges in right at lights out is critical to keeping the dew point low and the humidity stable as the temp drops ~5°C

My real question is; what is the best way to dial a flowering tent in? I'm planning to start out with the 'status quo' 25°C / 55% RH, but that will mean bringing the lights VERY close to get 28°C leaf temp. Is this all there is to it?