The mystery of the Mean Well type AB driver models?

A catch-all category for LED-related questions, content, news, rumors, or whatever. If it doesn’t fit elsewhere, put it here.
Blussum
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:

Hello it's my first post and i'm a newbie on the LED field (and electronics in general). I've watched LEDGardener's videos on youtube and have some newbie questions, especially about the drivers.

I somewhat know how the drivers operate now, but have hard time choosing which driver type i should buy for my quantum board setup. I looked all the available options and started wondering about the type AB drivers, why people aren't using them more and how they actually differ from both A and B types.

I don't remember LEDGardener showing or mentioning type AB drivers in his "The LEDG Guide to Mean Well HLG Drivers" series or in any other video either. It's actually really hard to find any info on the type AB drivers online at all. No videos no nothing. The only information i could find was on the Mean Well's own website and i had to search the datasheets to find out what's going on.

Let's take the HLG-240H-C series as an example, i already know what all the numbers and letters stand for, there's constant current drivers like 2100(mA), and "on the other side" thers's contant voltage + constant current drivers like 48(V) without mentioning the type. Then both sides have their own AB type drivers

On CC drivers:
A: Current adjustable through built-in potentiometer
B: 3 in 1 dimming function (1~10VDC, 10V PWM signal and resistance)
AB: Both above

On CC+CV drivers:
A: Current and voltage adjustable through built-in potentiometer
B: 3 in 1 dimming function (1~10VDC, 10V PWM signal and resistance)
AB: Both above

So isn't AB the "best" version of both worlds, so you can choose between the different "adjustment systems", or you could perhaps use them both at the same time? What am i missing here? Why is no one talking about AB drivers?
TEKNIK
LED Wizard