Retrieving Temperature and so on from BME280

Discuss garden automation systems and software here, including commercial products or Raspberry Pi and Arduino DIY setups.
Post Reply
SweetGardening
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2020 11:05 am

hey! :)

I bought a KeeYees Development Board 2.4 GHz Dual Core WLAN WiFi + Bluetooth 2-In-1 Microcontroller ESP-WROOM-32 Chip CP2102 for ESP32 for Arduino and KeeYees BME280 Digital 5V Temperature Humidity Sensor Atmospheric Barometric Pressure Board IIC I2C Breakout for Arduino

I should have connected it properly, following the SDA SCL pineout.

Here's the yaml
esphome:
name: whattheh
platform: ESP32
board: esp-wrover-kit

wifi:
ssid: "SSiDNAME"
password: "123456789"

# Enable fallback hotspot (captive portal) in case wifi connection fails
ap:
ssid: "Whatever Fallback Hotspot"
password: "Fallbacknotworking"

captive_portal:

# Enable logging
logger:

# Enable Home Assistant API
api:
password: "ha"

ota:
password: "ho"

# Example of customized configuration.yaml entry
sensor:
- platform: bme280
update_interval: 15s
temperature:
name: "Tempkitchen"
i2c:
sda: 33
scl: 36
scan: true


But seems I can't get any update when going into HA/ESPhome/showlogs...

Anyone is able to assist me doing this? I don't have any error on the yaml (not one is mentionned from the editor)

I'm lost! :D

Thank you!
Shimbob
LED Wizard
LED Wizard
Reactions:
Posts: 642
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 11:29 pm

You didn't mention if you wired up the vcc and gnd pins as well. They're connected right?
n27
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 3:32 pm

I had a problem with my bmp280 too and had to change the address from 0x77 to 0x76 otherwise It would not get the info but I cannot see that part in your config.. I don't know if it is related..
SweetGardening
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2020 11:05 am

Shimbob wrote:
Sun Sep 13, 2020 4:54 pm
You didn't mention if you wired up the vcc and gnd pins as well. They're connected right?
Thanks for help! :)

Yeah, I did connect and tried both 3.3 and 5v, none of them works, nor x76 or x77 :\

I'm kinda lost, I even tried another nodeMCU, just in case I had it wrong in the first place.
n27
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 3:32 pm

I don't know if it's related but from my and your config you did miss in the i2c section a id: bus_a line, if it's not that I don't know enough to help you I am sorry.. Maybe try just a esp32 board not a 2in1..
n27
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2020 3:32 pm

Here is my config hope it helps..
Another thing that I don't know is you have the api and Ota and I don't.. For me it works..
Can you see the entity in home assistant but no updates or not even the entity?
You could also try to remove the entry line that is not present in my config..
Sorry, cannot help more..


esphome:
name: 8ch_relay_12v
platform: ESP32
board: esp-wrover-kit

wifi:
ssid: "ssid"
password: "mypass"

# Enable fallback hotspot (captive portal) in case wifi connection fails
ap:
ssid: "8Ch Relè Fallback Hotspot"
password: "vttfHlmDSaBi"

captive_portal:

# Enable logging
logger:

# Enable Home Assistant API
api:

ota:

i2c:
sda: 21
scl: 22
scan: True
id: bus_a

switch:
- platform: gpio
pin: 25
name: "8ch 12v relay 1"
inverted: yes
- platform: gpio
pin: 26
name: "8ch 12v relay 2"
inverted: yes
- platform: gpio
pin: 27
name: "8ch 12v relay 3"
inverted: yes
- platform: gpio
pin: 33
name: "8ch 12v relay 4"
inverted: yes
- platform: gpio
pin: 14
name: "8ch 12v relay 5"
inverted: yes
- platform: gpio
pin: 32
name: "8ch 12v relay 6"
inverted: yes
- platform: gpio
pin: 12
name: "8ch 12v relay 7"
inverted: yes
- platform: gpio
pin: 13
name: "8ch 12v relay 8"
inverted: yes

sensor:
- platform: bme280
temperature:
name: "Temperature"
oversampling: 16x
pressure:
name: "Pressure"
humidity:
name: "Humidity"
address: 0x76
update_interval: 15s
User avatar
LEDG
Site Admin
Reactions:
Posts: 1599
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 8:15 pm

Here is my working config for 2 BME280s. You will want to set your i2c address to 0x76 if you're using just one of them on the ESP. If you use another on the same bus, you have to solder some pads on this second BME280 to change the address to 0x77. This is for a nodeMCU rather than an ESP32 but the rest of the config will be the same aside from the platform/board and the SCL/SDA pins.

Try using GPIO 22 for SCL and GPIO 21 for SDA

Code: Select all

esphome:
  name: peppertent
  platform: ESP8266
  board: nodemcuv2

wifi:
  ssid: "myssid"
  password: "mypass"

# Enable logging
logger:

# Enable Home Assistant API
api:

ota:

web_server:
  port: 80

i2c:
  sda: 4
  scl: 5
  scan: True
  
sensor:
  - platform: bme280
    temperature:
      name: "Pepper Tent Temp"
      oversampling: 16x
    humidity:
      name: "Pepper Tent Humidity"
      filters:
        - offset: -1.4     
    address: 0x76
    update_interval: 30s
  - platform: bme280
    temperature:
      name: "Pepper Tent Temp 2"
      oversampling: 16x
    humidity:
      name: "Pepper Tent Humidity 2"
      filters:
        - offset: -9.6
    address: 0x77
    update_interval: 30s
Want to Support the Site?

Use this Amazon referral link and any purchase you make within 24 hrs will earn LEDgardener a commission at no cost to you!
Post Reply