Total Newbie Strip Light build

Strip light questions and discussions go here (Samsung, Bridgelux, Photo Boost, Growcraft, etc.)
H0m3B0Y
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:

Hi

New to this forum, so please take it easy on me if I start asking dumb stuff.

I very very new to indoor growing, but have some experience with garden (vegetables) and one balcony experiment with growing bag seeds. I have some experience with electronics, can solder quite well, handy with tools, etc.
I would like to grow my own stuff for smoking and the balcony option will not work due to nosy neighbors, so here's my plan:
- I will grow in 60x60cm (2x2ft) tent, probably gorilla tent classic line (space is very limited and this is more of a hobby grow). I plan on having one plant in there, possibly SCROGed if I ever get that far with growing knowledge and experience
- I will use DIY strips for lighting (one light for both veg and flower)
- I don't live in US so HeatsinksUS is out of question, I haven't found any EU based heatsink supplier. The goal is to drive strips soft enough so that excess heat can be managed by aluminum U profile
- tent will be placed in a building, where indoor temperature never climbs above 25°C (winter indoor around 20°C, summer indoor around 23°C)

So here's a list of questions:
1. According to internets I will have to drive my strips at about 50% of their max (700mA) to make sure I don't get too much heat (please comment if this is correct). How many strips (I'm leaning towards Bridgelux BXEB-L0560Z 2ft strips) would I need to get at least 30w/sqft?
My best guess (based on this article): it says strips in these builds are driven at around 75% of their max; for 2x2 it lists 6 strips and for 2x4 it lists 12 strips (driven at 75%). If I drive them at 50% (and assume linear wattage relationship) this should amount to 9 strips? Lets round it up to 10 for redundancy sake.