Trouble with Bridgelux EB gen 2 connectors

Strip light questions and discussions go here (Samsung, Bridgelux, Photo Boost, Growcraft, etc.)
Nicklas
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:

Hi all

I'm somewhat new to LED building, having previously biult a 4x COB LED light.

I'm currently working on a build consisting of:

16x BXEB-L0280Z-50E1000-C-B3
HLG-185H-C500B

Where I plan to connect the modules in series for a total voltage of 312V.

However, I'm unable to get the wire to stay in the poke-in connectors. I assume that I have to push down on the small metal plate while stuffing the wire in the connector? I'm using 18 gauge stranded wire that I have twisted. Am I missing something obvious? Am I just not using enough force?
TEKNIK
LED Wizard
LED Wizard
Reactions:

Some of the plastic wago connectors are terrible. I think the bridgelux boards have them at both ends. Try the other side of the board. 300V is getting really high in voltage so make sure you get a good connection
Find me on Instagram led_teknik
0 to 220
LED Lover
LED Lover
Reactions:

Nicklas wrote:
Tue Jan 21, 2020 8:03 am
Hi all

I'm somewhat new to LED building, having previously biult a 4x COB LED light.

I'm currently working on a build consisting of:

16x BXEB-L0280Z-50E1000-C-B3
HLG-185H-C500B

Where I plan to connect the modules in series for a total voltage of 312V.

However, I'm unable to get the wire to stay in the poke-in connectors. I assume that I have to push down on the small metal plate while stuffing the wire in the connector? I'm using 18 gauge stranded wire that I have twisted. Am I missing something obvious? Am I just not using enough force?
cable-eater.jpg
bare-cable-eater.jpg
18 AWG I believe is known to be hard to get in there. My 20 AWG wires have a bite mark after I remove them
Take the wire and slide it in like this. Approach it "From below", the underside.
slide it.png
slide it.png (4.13 KiB) Viewed 2455 times

Don't push the poke connector to insert the wire.