Does this check out for a 2x4 area?

Strip light questions and discussions go here (Samsung, Bridgelux, Photo Boost, Growcraft, etc.)
Roost
LED Enthusiast
LED Enthusiast
Reactions:

Hello all,

I'm new to this all so forgive my ignorance. Does this look ok? I was also looking at "F" strips but I figured for the price these look decent. I pay somewhere in the neighborhood of 8cents a kWh, if efficiency is a factor.

8x BXEB-L0560Z-30E2000-C-B3
1x ‎HLG-185H-20A‎

Thanks, R
TEKNIK
LED Wizard
LED Wizard
Reactions:

That looks fine, for the price of them you would be better off running 12-14 of them so you don't have to worry about a heatsink.
Find me on Instagram led_teknik
Roost
LED Enthusiast
LED Enthusiast
Reactions:

TEKNIK wrote:
Thu Jan 30, 2020 10:10 pm
That looks fine, for the price of them you would be better off running 12-14 of them so you don't have to worry about a heatsink.
More of them at a lower voltage? I was looking on the data sheet and it says the min voltage of 18.5, max of 20.6 if I read that right. At 18.5v you think they wouldn't need a heat sink? I don't mind making a heat sink, would be interesting how much even coverage I could get with all those strips though.
TEKNIK
LED Wizard
LED Wizard
Reactions:

More would lower the current, it would also lower your voltage but more your current. Nominal current is 700mA on those strips.
Roost
LED Enthusiast
LED Enthusiast
Reactions:

Interesting. I'm still trying to figure out out this whole diode thing, I don't think it's what im use to in terms of currant draw relative to voltage (maybe im wrong). So If i decided to run 14 of them would that be in series, parallel, or a mix of both?

Appreciate the input
TEKNIK
LED Wizard
LED Wizard
Reactions: