atlas scientific sensors esphome

Home Assistant automation projects, questions, etc. go here.
Morbidbystander
LED Enthusiast
LED Enthusiast
Reactions:
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 4:12 am

I came back to this a few times and gave up. I added the esphome/custom_components/ezo folder and copied the files into this folder. I could never get the code for the sensors to compile. Even after I removed the include line and the rest of the senor code I would still get errors until I flashed an older snapshot.

Very strange indeed. I know my probe is 99 because it works with my other i2c code. There has to be something I'm doing wrong.
stud
LED Lover
LED Lover
Reactions:
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 4:19 pm
Location: Canada

Morbidbystander wrote:
Mon Dec 28, 2020 3:01 am
I came back to this a few times and gave up. I added the esphome/custom_components/ezo folder and copied the files into this folder. I could never get the code for the sensors to compile. Even after I removed the include line and the rest of the senor code I would still get errors until I flashed an older snapshot.

Very strange indeed. I know my probe is 99 because it works with my other i2c code. There has to be something I'm doing wrong.
have you tried with Tasmota ?
i got it working on both ESPHome and Tasmota ,i think Tasmota is easier . but you need to compile Tasmota ,by default EZO sensors are not available due to firmware size limits .
i have it compiled with EZO PH available if you want ,i can share ,i did not enable the rest of EZO sensors since im just testing with EZOPH for now .
and i just figured how to calibrate to on Tasmota , i'm in the process of figuring how to add the calibrate buttons on HomeAssistant .
viewtopic.php?f=35&t=6068
Morbidbystander
LED Enthusiast
LED Enthusiast
Reactions:
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 4:12 am

Excellent info my friend. Looks like I have some research and a lot of work to do. How does the ph sensor run? I've had trouble running the controller code from atlas aka the indestructibles ph controller code.

My ph stamp would go into stand by mode randomly. I had the arduino reading in i2c then sending uart to the esp32 as a custom uart sensor.
stud
LED Lover
LED Lover
Reactions:
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 4:19 pm
Location: Canada

Morbidbystander wrote:
Sun Jan 10, 2021 10:35 pm
Excellent info my friend. Looks like I have some research and a lot of work to do. How does the ph sensor run? I've had trouble running the controller code from atlas aka the indestructibles ph controller code.

My ph stamp would go into stand by mode randomly. I had the arduino reading in i2c then sending uart to the esp32 as a custom uart sensor.
easier to run and calibrate on Tasmota . Tasmota started supporting Atlas Sensors recently and works amazing here for the last 3 weeks . no errors or reboot needed , so far so good !
so happy that i decided to buy the EZO-CO2 today .
FrozenSwede
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2021 11:24 pm

Hello!

Really new here, first post and all !
Found this forum through a vid on youTube.

I just today got my package of Atlas sensors, with pH, EC and Temp.
Trying to install them to Home assistant together with a Raspberry and a ESP32.

But i havent found any good step-by-step guide.
Im using ESP32 with ESPHome

I have pieced together stuff, but there is something im missing..

The log on the node shows this:

[23:25:46][C][i2c:028]: I2C Bus:
[23:25:46][C][i2c:029]: SDA Pin: GPIO21
[23:25:46][C][i2c:030]: SCL Pin: GPIO22
[23:25:46][C][i2c:031]: Frequency: 50000 Hz
[23:25:46][i2c:033]: Scanning i2c bus for active devices...
[23:25:46][i2c:049]: Found no i2c devices!
[23:25:46][C][logger:185]: Logger:
[23:25:46][C][logger:186]: Level: DEBUG
[23:25:46][C][logger:187]: Log Baud Rate: 115200
[23:25:46][C][logger:188]: Hardware UART: UART0
[23:25:46][C][ezo.sensor:014]: EZO 'pH'
[23:25:46][C][ezo.sensor:014]: Unit of Measurement: 'pH'
[23:25:47][C][ezo.sensor:014]: Accuracy Decimals: 2
[23:25:47][C][ezo.sensor:015]: Address: 0x63
[23:25:47][C][ezo.sensor:018]: Update Interval: 60.0s
[23:25:47][C][captive_portal:169]: Captive Portal:
[23:25:47][C][ota:029]: Over-The-Air Updates:
[23:25:47][C][ota:030]: Address: ph_sensor.local:3232
[23:25:47][C][api:095]: API Server:
[23:25:47][C][api:096]: Address: ph_sensor.local:6053
[23:26:00][W][i2c:070]: Received NACK on transmit of address 0x63
[23:26:01][W][i2c:086]: Requesting 20 bytes from 0x63 failed!
[23:26:01][E][ezo.sensor:049]: read error

Can anybody please point me in the direction of a step-for-step guide so i can learn how to set it up properly?

Thanks in advance!


EDIT:
Due to my curse of "when-asking-i-solve-part-of-my-problem"- issue i got this when i switched around some cables:

[23:32:11][i2c:033]: Scanning i2c bus for active devices...
[23:32:11][i2c:040]: Found i2c device at address 0x63
[23:32:11][C][logger:185]: Logger:
[23:32:11][C][logger:186]: Level: DEBUG
[23:32:11][C][logger:187]: Log Baud Rate: 115200
[23:32:11][C][logger:188]: Hardware UART: UART0
[23:32:11][C][ezo.sensor:014]: EZO 'pH'
[23:32:11][C][ezo.sensor:014]: Unit of Measurement: 'pH'
[23:32:11][C][ezo.sensor:014]: Accuracy Decimals: 2
[23:32:11][C][ezo.sensor:015]: Address: 0x63
[23:32:11][C][ezo.sensor:018]: Update Interval: 60.0s
[23:32:11][C][captive_portal:169]: Captive Portal:
[23:32:11][C][ota:029]: Over-The-Air Updates:
[23:32:11][C][ota:030]: Address: ph_sensor.local:3232
[23:32:11][C][api:095]: API Server:
[23:32:11][C][api:096]: Address: ph_sensor.local:6053
[23:32:33][D][sensor:092]: 'pH': Sending state 3.69700 pH with 2 decimals of accuracy

So im guessing not it reads, but its not showing up in Home Assistant. Do i need to add it somewhere else?

EDIT 2:
sorry for this... i had forgotten to add the ESPHOME as integration.. now i see the pH as a sensor and can add it as a gauge...
stud
LED Lover
LED Lover
Reactions:
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 4:19 pm
Location: Canada

FrozenSwede wrote:
Tue Feb 16, 2021 10:27 pm
Hello!

Really new here, first post and all !
Found this forum through a vid on youTube.

I just today got my package of Atlas sensors, with pH, EC and Temp.
Trying to install them to Home assistant together with a Raspberry and a ESP32.


EDIT 2:
sorry for this... i had forgotten to add the ESPHOME as integration.. now i see the pH as a sensor and can add it as a gauge...
Welcome to the community !
are you referring to this Atlas Hydro Kit ? viewtopic.php?f=35&t=6182
i got it working yesterday on Tasmota and HA . not hard . i also have the ezo-co2 on tasmota with a NodeMCU (esp8266) .
the sensors have to be on i2c mode to work on tasmota ,i think its the same for esphome
FrozenSwede
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2021 11:24 pm

Hey!

Thanks for the warm welcome :D

No im using:
https://atlas-scientific.com/kits/ph-kit/

I got it working after a little troubleshooting. The sensor is in I2C mode and showing pH value in HA using ESPHome. Havent tried the EC module or the temp, but im assuming i should do the same with them.

Working with the pump now trying to figure out that one...
stud
LED Lover
LED Lover
Reactions:
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 4:19 pm
Location: Canada

FrozenSwede wrote:
Wed Feb 17, 2021 12:43 am
Hey!

Thanks for the warm welcome :D

No im using:
https://atlas-scientific.com/kits/ph-kit/

I got it working after a little troubleshooting. The sensor is in I2C mode and showing pH value in HA using ESPHome. Havent tried the EC module or the temp, but im assuming i should do the same with them.

Working with the pump now trying to figure out that one...
i'm happy you got it working , good luck with the project and dont forget to share :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
jhojan
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2021 1:48 am

Morbidbystander wrote:
Thu Nov 26, 2020 6:50 pm
Hello guys,

I have Ph controller program running on an Arduino with an Ezo sensor i2c.

I'm trying to add this Ph integration Esp32 but keep running into issues. The logs are stating :

[18:18:11][W][i2c:067]: Too much data to fit in transmitter buffer for address 0x63
[18:18:12][W][i2c:086]: Requesting 20 bytes from 0x63 failed!
[18:18:12][E][ezo.sensor:049]: read error

Strange part is the address for the sensor is set to 99 in the code. Are there any prerequisite files I need to make this work. I've copied ssieb's custom component folder. Am I supposed to add an includes line in the beginning? I've tried adding "includes: custom_components" but nothing. One of the files contains a esphome/core.h file that I definitely don't have. Checking github it says no longer used.

Scratching my head on this one.

Hello, I had the same problem when working with the ESP32. Then I switched to the ESP-12E and I was able to integrate my EZO-pH and EZO-ec sensors via ESPHome.
What I have not yet been able to do is calibrate these 2 sensors using HA, I hope they can help me.
Morbidbystander
LED Enthusiast
LED Enthusiast
Reactions:
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 4:12 am

Fortunately they implemented EZO sensors on ESPhome so all this programming isn't needed anymore. I'm still running a custom sensor because I like using the Arduino for a pH safety controller.

There is an open feature request on GitHub to implement commands to the various EZO sensors using ESPhome. They are working on it.

I know LED Gardener has a MQTT system set up to "fire" commands to his Arduino for calibration but I haven't tackled it yet. Time is something I need much more of. :lol: .
Post Reply