My HA/grow setup...and some questions

Home Assistant automation projects, questions, etc. go here.
saitama
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:

Hi all!

Really excited to be a part of this forum. I can't wait to see what others have come up with. After watching LEDG's two-part series on youtube, I was hooked. I've been growing for a few years, but the automation aspect has always been lacking. I had many devices I used to control environment, but they were mostly analog and kind of a pain to maintain. I'm so happy to have finally taken the plunge and setup my own HA config. It's quite the adduction getting all this stuff setup and working. There's almost too much to play with.

My setup:

HyperV VM that lives on my Plex server
ESP8266 with DHT22 sensor running ESPHome for temp/hygrometer
BN-Links and Sonoff S31s running Tasmota fw for fan, heat and light control
Android Tablet IP Webcam for timelapse and realtime video
Veg light - 200w GrowGreen LED board with 192x 3500k and 192x 5000k LM561cs that I bought off another forum member a while back

I would eventually like to incorporate reservoir monitoring w/ level (weight, like LEDG), pH and EC, but would prefer to do it using ESP8266s or without using the tentacle. It's a tad pricey for me at this point.

Looking for some advice here: I am currently using the generic thermostat module to control temps in my tent, since it's in my garage. The space heater keeps the temps up and I have the exhaust fan setup for cooling and humidity control. I would like to run the exhaust fan for maybe 30s-1m every 10 minutes to keep the temps up and exchange air, but also keep humidity at bay. I have automations set up for humidity (on at 65%, off at 55%) but this automation gets overridden by the cooling thermostat, so I need to disable the cooling thermostat to stop it from turning the fan off. Any input is welcome here.