atlas scientific sensors esphome

Home Assistant automation projects, questions, etc. go here.
mike84
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2020 12:06 am
Location: Australia

still haven't got around to trying to figure out how to cal in home assistant, i just calibrate it with a arduino plugged in and use serial monitor in arduino ide. But there must be a easier way though
Gromyjoe
LED Enthusiast
LED Enthusiast
Reactions:
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2020 2:28 pm

Any progress with calibrating withing esphome?
I finally got my Ufire ph and ec probes to work so I'm now trying to figure out the calibration procedure
HA User
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2020 9:15 am

Hi guys,

Great information on getting these sensors up and running in ESPhome but I am having a little trouble:

I can see that the sensors are working in the ESPhome logs but don't know how to add them as entities in HA.

[16:34:45][D][sensor:092]: 'pH': Sending state 5.77700 pH with 2 decimals of accuracy
[16:34:56][D][sensor:092]: 'EC CN': Sending state 829.29999 CN with 0 decimals of accuracy
[16:34:58][D][sensor:092]: 'RTD Temperature': Sending state 20.14200 °C with 2 decimals of accuracy

I have enable newly discovered entities enabled in esphome.

I have another esp8266 which is up and running and can see all 5 entities connected to that one.

Any help would be much appreciated.
HA User
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2020 9:15 am

All sorted, I removed the esp from esphome and reinstalled it and all entities showed up! :)
User avatar
LEDG
Site Admin
Reactions:
Posts: 1599
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 8:15 pm

Nicely done.
Want to Support the Site?

Use this Amazon referral link and any purchase you make within 24 hrs will earn LEDgardener a commission at no cost to you!
HA User
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2020 9:15 am

mike84 wrote:
Wed Aug 19, 2020 2:47 am
still haven't got around to trying to figure out how to cal in home assistant, i just calibrate it with a arduino plugged in and use serial monitor in arduino ide. But there must be a easier way though
I'm guessing that Calibration with Arduino IDE is going to get wiped when you setup the ESP in ESPhome, please correct me if I'm wrong?
I calibrated EC probe in Arduino IDE then setup the same esp in ESPhome and cal was out. 12,880 was reading 10,880 and 80,000 was reading 67,610 - I would love to know how to compensate for this in ESPhome.
One other thing that I would like to know how to do is be able to divide the reading by 1000 so that I am getting the correct EC output.

I Would definitely be keen to be able to calibrate through HA.
shmoove
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2020 11:26 am

HA User wrote:
Sat Nov 07, 2020 8:07 am
One other thing that I would like to know how to do is be able to divide the reading by 1000 so that I am getting the correct EC output.
This worked for me:

Code: Select all

  - platform: ezo
    id: ec_ezo
    name: "EC CN"
    address: 100
    accuracy_decimals: 2
    unit_of_measurement: "EC" 
    filters:
      - lambda: |-
          if (x > 0.1) {
            return x / 1000.0;
          }
Morbidbystander
LED Enthusiast
LED Enthusiast
Reactions:
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 4:12 am

Hello guys,

I have Ph controller program running on an Arduino with an Ezo sensor i2c.

I'm trying to add this Ph integration Esp32 but keep running into issues. The logs are stating :

[18:18:11][W][i2c:067]: Too much data to fit in transmitter buffer for address 0x63
[18:18:12][W][i2c:086]: Requesting 20 bytes from 0x63 failed!
[18:18:12][E][ezo.sensor:049]: read error

Strange part is the address for the sensor is set to 99 in the code. Are there any prerequisite files I need to make this work. I've copied ssieb's custom component folder. Am I supposed to add an includes line in the beginning? I've tried adding "includes: custom_components" but nothing. One of the files contains a esphome/core.h file that I definitely don't have. Checking github it says no longer used.

Scratching my head on this one.
stud
LED Lover
LED Lover
Reactions:
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 4:19 pm
Location: Canada

anyone tried this new method ?
viewtopic.php?f=35&t=6068
stud
LED Lover
LED Lover
Reactions:
Posts: 143
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 4:19 pm
Location: Canada

Morbidbystander wrote:
Thu Nov 26, 2020 6:50 pm
Hello guys,

I have Ph controller program running on an Arduino with an Ezo sensor i2c.

I'm trying to add this Ph integration Esp32 but keep running into issues. The logs are stating :

[18:18:11][W][i2c:067]: Too much data to fit in transmitter buffer for address 0x63
[18:18:12][W][i2c:086]: Requesting 20 bytes from 0x63 failed!
[18:18:12][E][ezo.sensor:049]: read error

Strange part is the address for the sensor is set to 99 in the code. Are there any prerequisite files I need to make this work. I've copied ssieb's custom component folder. Am I supposed to add an includes line in the beginning? I've tried adding "includes: custom_components" but nothing. One of the files contains a esphome/core.h file that I definitely don't have. Checking github it says no longer used.

Scratching my head on this one.
did you scan to make sure of the address ?
https://esphome.io/components/i2c.html
i assume you are flashing the esp32 via usb from the esphome addon on HA ?
Post Reply