ESP issues

Home Assistant automation projects, questions, etc. go here.
vdelgatto
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2021 9:33 pm

Hello, i just got everything wired up everything is almost up and running, im having problems figuring out the esp config for the control box, i got it online but when i add the code from the repo i get errors on the majority of the lines, im new to this but just need a little help. i got the other esp fort the tent up and running and reading out properly on my ha dashboard. any help is appreciated thank you!

EDIT
downloaded libraries onewire, dallastemperature, wifi, pubsubclient, wire and adafruit sensor library and adafruitsensor bme280 library.... i reload a new instance of IDE and everything is orange (i assume that means it found the newly installed libraries??) except for the two adafriuit sensor #include lines. i went ahead and sent it over to the esp i figured i could test other functions but still nothing.

ive entered my ssid, password and i entered my HA server IP in the mqtt_server line is that correct?

i entered my mqtt username and password in the client.connect line below "attemting mqtt connection... what do i need to enter in the ID field?

what else needs to be changed on my end for it to work properly
Attachments
IMG_1829.jpg
IMG_1887.jpg
IMG_1885.jpg
IMG_1888.jpg
Last edited by vdelgatto on Mon Aug 16, 2021 8:19 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
LEDG
Site Admin
Reactions:
Posts: 1599
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 8:15 pm

You may need to install some libraries in the Arduino software.
Want to Support the Site?

Use this Amazon referral link and any purchase you make within 24 hrs will earn LEDgardener a commission at no cost to you!
vdelgatto
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2021 9:33 pm

LEDG wrote:
Sun Aug 15, 2021 2:28 pm
You may need to install some libraries in the Arduino software.
so ive installed the libraries, ive uploaded the code using the arduino software. how do i tie it into HA now?
vdelgatto
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2021 9:33 pm

LEDG wrote:
Sun Aug 15, 2021 2:28 pm
You may need to install some libraries in the Arduino software.
i believe ive set up mosquito broker properly, im a little lost honestly. id even be willing to compensate you for your time, maybe set up a teamview session if you have a chance to briefly look through what i have going on
vdelgatto
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2021 9:33 pm

LEDG wrote:
Sun Aug 15, 2021 2:28 pm
You may need to install some libraries in the Arduino software.
EDIT
downloaded libraries onewire, dallastemperature, wifi, pubsubclient, wire and adafruit sensor library and adafruitsensor bme280 library.... i reload a new instance of IDE and everything is orange (i assume that means it found the newly installed libraries??) except for the two adafriuit sensor #include lines. i went ahead and sent it over to the esp i figured i could test other functions but still nothing.

ive entered my ssid, password and i entered my HA server IP in the mqtt_server line is that correct?

i entered my mqtt username and password in the client.connect line below "attemting mqtt connection... what do i need to enter in the ID field?

what else needs to be changed on my end for it to work properly
User avatar
LEDG
Site Admin
Reactions:
Posts: 1599
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 8:15 pm

vdelgatto wrote:
Mon Aug 16, 2021 8:07 pm
LEDG wrote:
Sun Aug 15, 2021 2:28 pm
You may need to install some libraries in the Arduino software.
EDIT
downloaded libraries onewire, dallastemperature, wifi, pubsubclient, wire and adafruit sensor library and adafruitsensor bme280 library.... i reload a new instance of IDE and everything is orange (i assume that means it found the newly installed libraries??) except for the two adafriuit sensor #include lines. i went ahead and sent it over to the esp i figured i could test other functions but still nothing.

ive entered my ssid, password and i entered my HA server IP in the mqtt_server line is that correct?

i entered my mqtt username and password in the client.connect line below "attemting mqtt connection... what do i need to enter in the ID field?

what else needs to be changed on my end for it to work properly
The ID is something unique you assign to that ESP32. For example, mine is just "ControlBoxESP32". Are you able to connect to your MQTT broker using your username/password with a program like MQTT Box?
Want to Support the Site?

Use this Amazon referral link and any purchase you make within 24 hrs will earn LEDgardener a commission at no cost to you!
vdelgatto
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2021 9:33 pm

LEDG wrote:
Tue Aug 17, 2021 1:42 pm
vdelgatto wrote:
Mon Aug 16, 2021 8:07 pm
LEDG wrote:
Sun Aug 15, 2021 2:28 pm
You may need to install some libraries in the Arduino software.
EDIT
downloaded libraries onewire, dallastemperature, wifi, pubsubclient, wire and adafruit sensor library and adafruitsensor bme280 library.... i reload a new instance of IDE and everything is orange (i assume that means it found the newly installed libraries??) except for the two adafriuit sensor #include lines. i went ahead and sent it over to the esp i figured i could test other functions but still nothing.

ive entered my ssid, password and i entered my HA server IP in the mqtt_server line is that correct?

i entered my mqtt username and password in the client.connect line below "attemting mqtt connection... what do i need to enter in the ID field?

what else needs to be changed on my end for it to work properly
The ID is something unique you assign to that ESP32. For example, mine is just "ControlBoxESP32". Are you able to connect to your MQTT broker using your username/password with a program like MQTT Box?
gotcha i actually just got it figured out. i accidentally had added a space after my ssid SMH lol, im able to see the temp reading from the control box, i can trigger the relays on and off inside the box but when i go to turn on the dosing pumps the slider button in HA turns back to the off position after about a second and nothing happens with the dosing pumps
Anono
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2021 2:36 pm

Have u guys looked at esphome in ha make esp so easy I was fighting with higrow in ha and esphome made is a simple affair
User avatar
LEDG
Site Admin
Reactions:
Posts: 1599
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 8:15 pm

ESPHome is pretty great. OP and I managed to get his control issues all worked out.
Want to Support the Site?

Use this Amazon referral link and any purchase you make within 24 hrs will earn LEDgardener a commission at no cost to you!
cnselpaso
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2021 5:05 pm

Hi VDELGATTO,

I am new to this group also and I also built the Automation System you did.
I am impressed with the layout of your components in box and the way you setup the Peristaltic Pumps is great.
Was able to get ESP32 communicating with the Mega after some troubleshooting.
Did you use the HX711 for weight measurement for water tank? If so were you able to calibrate it?

Thanks,

CNSELPASO
Post Reply