Cob light penetration and plant height question

Discuss COBs or any other types of LEDs that don’t fit the other categories (Cree, Citizen, Migro, etc.).
wardo
LED-Curious
LED-Curious
Reactions:

I'm new to cob but with hps you can get plants pretty tall. Cobs of course have less penetration, or so I'm told. If I have 4 50 watt Crees, how big should I get my plants before flower? I have 7ft of vertical space, including space for the light.
Jolly Green Giant
LED Wizard
LED Wizard
Reactions:

welcome to the forum first off 😁
( second.. this is post #420 for me πŸ˜„)

I would say it depends on your style of growing and strain dependant...

I like to keep shorter plants that are trained to fill a space... I use a 5x5x7 tent, but use a 4x4 tray on the floor.. with a scrog net roughly 3' off the floor. with my light( diy hlg550 equivalent) roughly 18-20" above the scrog, I still have a little over 2' above the light. I have buds forming at pot level!😁 ( roughly 40" from light down thru canopy) I flip mine after I weave them thru the net.. but there isn't much stretch. I've also weaved them thru net during stretch when I knew it was going too.

if you want a giant tree and move your cobs up while it grows and end up with the light at the top... with average stretch I'm guessing flip it at 3- 4 feet.... your light should be at the top and plants I'm guessing will be around 5 - 6 foot ( strain dependant main factor.. stress elemental conditions etc side factors)

again welcome to the forum😁
Grower
LED Maniac
LED Maniac
Reactions:

I am a noob but what is light penetration? I mean I am not really sure it is only altered by the output power of the light source, I think the more the light sources are the better the coverage is and more penetration we have since light is coming from different angles

@Jolly happy 420th post lol
Jolly Green Giant
LED Wizard
LED Wizard
Reactions: